Dear Western Fanbase: Anime is not your avatar for addressing social issues.


Don’t make Kirino angry. You wouldn’t like her when she’s angry.

I’m usually the type not to rant about someone unless it stays in my mind for a while. For the past month, I’m been seeing more than the usual pseudo-intellectual babbling from the western fanbase.

This has got me thinking, I know I’ve said that stuff like Cowboy Bebop and REDLINE is what the western fandom wants more of, which is true but when I see rantings about evils of otaku pandering, so-called misogyny in anime/manga and treatment of gay characters, I’ve now come to the true conclusion towhat they REALLY want. They want anime/manga that addresses social issues.

Look, just because you’ve seen a handful anime/manga that does address various social issues, doesn’t mean that the entirety of the medium is meant for that, nor should it. Now, truth be told, I don’t actually have a problem with anime/manga that does examine various problems of the world, but my thing is I’m not looking for it. If it happens to appear in a title I like, then that’s cool. While I did appreciate Wandering Son for having crossdressing characters be done in a more realistic light, I was mainly watching it for the art and yes, shota traps/reverse traps. However, those in the western fandom would look at this and say something like “finally, an anime that doesn’t make gays/lesbians into a fetish object”. Same notion goes for Princess Jellyfish which to me is in that category of “was good enough to watch once, but I don’t need to see it again” (I REALLY hated the other female characters except the main one) but to many in the western fandom, it was seen as the best anime of 2010 (really now?) while poo-pooing Oreimo for being”otaku panding crap”

The western fanbase likes to use anime/manga as a means of political activism, forgetting (more like flat out ignoring) that in Japan, these shows/comics are rarely used like that (except for the most pretentious types. I’m looking at you “I wish Japan would be flooded” Hayao Miyazaki). Yaoi manga is NOT a meant for gay activism. In fact, the term “fujoshi” meaning “rotten women” which is meant to imply that she thinks she is SO rotten for enjoying that type of manga. Same goes for Otaku, meaning “in one’s home”, to imply that the person is SO engrossed with his/her hobby that they don’t care about the rest of the world. Yet the fandom here continues to over analyze, over examine stuff that just is meant to be fun. Like lovely fanservice!

Ugh, the western fandom sure pisses me off sometimes. Rant over.

4 Comments

Filed under article

4 responses to “Dear Western Fanbase: Anime is not your avatar for addressing social issues.

  1. tsukuyomimagi99

    Geez! I agree with you but what the hell happened to piss you off this much? This is just the same shit as usual, self entitled fans who want anime to conform to their standards to hide their insecurity about watching “cartoons”. I’ll say it once again ANIME IS AN ENTERTAINMENT MEDIUM FOR THE JAPANESE NOT THE WESTERN FANDOM!!

    But really who got under your skin this time?

  2. From what I understand, Yaoi doesn’t really address LGBT issues. You pretty much hit the nail on the head regarding the fujoshi issue. Other than that, I’d have to agree with you on that. I know I’ve kind of said this once, but if anime was about social issue (aka animu is serious business lol) then Strike Witches would probably be praised for it’s feminization of war. But, of course, the obvious reasons the western fanbase likes to whine and complain about everything that isn’t “manly” enough.

Leave a Reply

