What gives, Sentai?


1240970927922 16?Yeahright 14yrsold

I was watching my Hatsukoi Limited DVD when I came across the following. The character Kei Enomoto clearly is 14 as they distinctly show off who’s in middle school and who’s in high school in this series. So why’d they’d change it? This isn’t the 90’s anymore with “these characters are attending a two year vocational community college”. I’ve included caps from the original fansub, Sentai’s release and even the manga.

And no, I’ve not advocating teen marriage (she was proposed by a guy in this scene), I just hate seeing the original creator’s intent being changed for western sensibilities.

Also, this doesn’t mean I’ll boycott any future Sentai releases (because they’ve been licensing around around a third of the shows I’ve been enjoying.

Read the Wikipedia entry if you don’t believe me.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hatsukoi_Limited

13 Comments

Filed under gallery

13 responses to “What gives, Sentai?

  1. drawingirl94

    This is exactly why I’m trying to learn Japanese. So I don’t have to deal with the bullshit of inaccurate translations.

  2. Good call. I only know a teeny bit of Japanese, mainly picked up by watching shows. I never got around around to actually learning it properly.

    • drawingirl94

      I’ve been studying the language for almost six years. Still not fluent enough to hold a complex conversation, but I’m working on it. I think all anime fans should try and learn at least a little bit. I think watching anime could be a lot more fun if you don’t have to read through the tedious and not always reliable subtitles AND you can see it the way the original artist intended.

      • Well, I’ve watched raws for untranslated anime/tokutatsu.

        BTW the mangaka for Hatsukoi Limited is a women.

      • drawingirl94

        Really? Huh. It always amazes me when the creators of shows that cause these controversies are women because people always assume that the creators of these shows are perverted men. The mangaka for Kodomo no Jikan is also a woman, and I think that’s awesome.

      • Yep! Also the mangaka for Mitsudomoe and Sekirei are women as well.

        In fact, I think Namori, the mangaka for Yuru Yuri is one too!

      • drawingirl94

        Yeah, and of course let’s not forget Clamp, who create oldschool moe such as Cardcaptor Sakura and Chobits. Hell, I myself am thinking of writing stories with moe and fanservice. It goes to show that men aren’t the only ones who enjoy this stuff. But, to be honest, I don’t understand how anyone could not like it.

      • Oh, how can I forgot Ume Aoki. I LOVE her style!

      • drawingirl94

        Me too! She’s a brilliant artist. After all, the art of Hidamari Sketch is what drew me in to the series in the first place. Though, to be honest, I think I might actually like the manga of Hidamari Sketch more than the anime despite how the anime has brilliant art direction.

      • The manga for Hidamari Sketch along with the rest of K-On! is the only manga I’m still collecting. Damn, where’s Yuru Yuri’s manga?

      • drawingirl94

        I’ve read a little bit of the Yuru Yuri manga online. It seems a little different because Akari has an older brother instead of an older sister. But from what I’ve hear, they went and revised that in the manga after the anime made “him” into a “her”.

      • Yeah, I know. I do have scanilations for some of the manga but I prefer official releases for the stuff I enjoy.

      • drawingirl94

        Me too. That’s why I usually import manga from Japan if there isn’t any official English release. I did that with To Love-Ru and Doraemon.

Leave a Reply

