Buying stuff you like is BAD!?


1382347589888

Consumerism is evil! Am I right?

If there’s one thing I’ve encountered from the western fanbase that’s baffled me more than anything, it their anti-consumerist attitude towards it. It’s almost as if they think anime is produced in a vacuum that just magically appears for them to take but not give.

Unlike the Japanese fanbase, I’ve noticed the western fanbase has a complete aversion to the notion that what they’re watching is designed to sell them something. I bring up this topic because lately many have a disdain for Gundam Build Fighters because of its blatant gunpla product placement.  I don’t see how this is any different that the majority of mecha anime that’s been produced over the decades (especially that of TV anime). I’m loving Gundam Build Fighters for this very reason. It’s finally the type of robot show I enjoy greatly; the hyper commercialized product placement anime that makes you feel like you’re a kid again!

I just don’t see why a show being a  half hour commercial is necessarily a bad thing. Did these people not grow up in the 80’s when the majority of cartoons were designed to do just that. Was seeing Optimus Prime turn into a cool truck and then asking your mommy to buy you a toy of it so horrible? Now of course I know the show or its characters have to engage you more than anything otherwise in my mind it’s failed to sell you its product. Today’s anime is no different from that of the past when it comes to this. Instead of watching that cool robot do cool shit in which you then bug your parents to buy you its toy, you now seek out to buy a figure of your favorite moe character. Otaku seem to understand this concept very well. Still, there’s of course there’s that VERY vocal minority who think anime has to only be art with DEEP plot and COMPLEX REALISTIC characters because they so want there to be an anime equivalent of something like Breaking Bad. Right?

8 Comments

Filed under article

8 responses to “Buying stuff you like is BAD!?

  1. Niwa

    I don’t really get the anti-consumerism mindset from the western fanbase either. Unless you’re spending so much on toys that you can’t afford essentials like food and water, there’s nothing wrong with buying anime merchandise. An otaku buying a t-shirt with their favorite moe girl on it is really no different from a football fan buying the jersey of their favorite team.

    The people who clamor for all anime to be DEEP AND COMPLEX irritate the shit out of me. I can understand having preferences and all, but this “Everything has to appeal to me!” mindset is just self-centered and entitled.

  2. drawingirl94

    This is a very interesting article. I’d like to give my personal opinion on this, but there would probably be a LOT for me to say. Maybe I should write a blog post about this.

  3. You don’t see a post like this too often. I gotta say that I agree with you.

    • Thanks! Yeah, the problem is nobody is saying this stuff. Even the ones that would agree don’t give their say on the matter and thus that’s why people like Daryl Surat become the opinion leaders that others then parrot. Let’s not forgot the recent back and forth flame war on ANN about Miyazaki’s recent senile rantings.

  4. Pingback: On the Topic of Anime Commericalism and Merchandising | drawingirl94

  5. When you mentioned Breaking bad I realized I would totally buy a Walter White doll that said the “I am the one who knocks speech” when you pulled a string.

Leave a Reply

