Rantantrum: Six things the western fanbase needs to stop doing ASAP!


Sh-Shut up!You tell them Aya.

1.Stop complaining about Aniplex USA’s pricing. You want stuff like Kill La Kill and Nisekoi the SAME YEAR they aired on BD/DVD? Well then you’re going to have a pay a premium. Expensive? Yes but it’s still not as much as it would be in Japan. I know we’re used to anime is way cheaper here but still. Speaking of which…

2.Stop badmouthing U.S. anime companies. While nearly all have had hiccups, for the most part the U.S. companies have been doing a stellar job with anime releases ever since they’ve been able to price collected seasons correctly. MOST thing are on BD now and nearly everything that comes out in Japan gets licensed. And stop saying that the companies are only in it for the money. Listen, they BARELY make it as it is. Put up or Shut up. Seriously. You people really need to support some facet of the industry. BD/DVDs,  manga, figures. Stop being silent fans who ONLY enjoy anime through piracy. Speaking of which…

3.Stop worrying about what non anime fans think about your hobby. Listen, if you proved yourself to be a rational human being, isn’t that all that matters? Who cares if your room is littered with BD/DVDs, figures, books, posters, etc. Are you that paranoid about what your friends think about your hobby? You probably shouldn’t be around people who judge you like that anyway. Speaking of which…

4.Stop it with the social justice crap. Oh this one gets me pissed SO much because while there’s always been a criticism of anime for being “fetishistic”,  “sexist” or “misogynistic”, it’s really been in just the past couple of years that clamoring for Japan to change their tastes to suit western morals because god forbid anime being too “dangerously Japanese”. Speaking of which…

5.Can we kinda stop worrying about what shows are selling well in Japan? I know I’ve been guilty of being focused on the Japanese side of the industry and seeing what’s big sellers if only to see what possible shows are likely to get continuing seasons. Still, some of my favorite shows in the past several years have been things that didn’t really hit big with otaku such as Kanamemo and Love Lab. Just enjoy what you like and then support it if you can (if the show’s not available, I tend to go after artbooks). Sales numbers shouldn’t always dictate what direction the industry is heading. Speaking of which…

6. Please stop being all chicken little like and say that the industry (Japanese or domestic) is going to collapse at any moment. Look, while there’s been numerous companies that have had to close shop (Geneon & Bandai) or some that appear they’re about to go any moment (I’m looking at you Media Blasters), the truth is the industry has been in a stable flus. Yes, the period between 2008-2011 has been quite shaky ( recession, Geneon going out of business and brick and mortar stores carrying less anime are to blame mostly). I think it’s great that for the most part, nearly every shows that’s been coming out has been getting a U.S. release and not only that but old stuff that we thought would NEVER come out has such as the original Mazinger Z or rereleases of things too.

Phew, that was a lot of writing.

7 Comments

Filed under article

7 responses to “Rantantrum: Six things the western fanbase needs to stop doing ASAP!

  1. Niwa

    1. Agreed. No further comment.

    2. I don’t really have a problem with anime fans who don’t buy anything. But if you’re not gonna buy anything, then you don’t have any right to bitch about the industry not catering towards you.

    3. I think the problem here is that even if you prove yourself to be a rational person, a lot of people are very close-minded on certain hobbies. I agree that people shouldn’t care, but it’s very hard to open up if the chance of harsh social rejection is in the air. It always makes me sad whenever I see online posts of people apologizing to their friends for what they like. If you’re friends are making you feel like you have to apologize for liking what you like, you need new friends.

    4. I have no idea what’s been causing the social justice attitude to rise over the past few years, but something happened. You know, I don’t even have an issue with someone getting offended over something. My issue is more how they treat offensiveness not as subjective, but rather objective.

    5 & 6. Again. Agreed with no further comment.

  2. drawingirl94

    I pretty much agree with all of these. I also agree with Niwa’s positions too. Personally, I understand why someone would fear social rejection over the things they like. But it’s like you and Niwa said, if your friends make you feel like crap over liking a cartoon, then it’s probably time to get some new friends.

  3. TsukuyomiMagi99

    This article…so much agree! 🙂

  4. TsukuyomiMagi99

    @Drawingirl94

    Hey, what have ya been up to? I haven’t seen any articles from you recently. You haven’t abandoned your blog have you?

    • drawingirl94

      I’ve mostly been watching anime, working at my new job, and some other personal stuff. I haven’t been blogging much lately because I’m not really interested in doing so at the moment. I do have one post that I plan to do, but don’t expect it to come out quickly. Like I said before, I’m not very interested in blogging lately. Guess I’m having kind of a writer’s block.

  5. I agree wholeheartedly with everyone here.

Leave a Reply

